REUBEN BUTCHART is a composer, singer-songwriter and pianist based in New York City. He entered New York's downtown music scene as the original pianist for Mercury Prize winner Antony and the Johnsons.

While playing for Antony, Reuben developed his own debut album with co-producer, bassist, and guitarist Steve Bagley. "Dusk" is an eclectic blend of electronic samples and R&B vocal flourishes with contributions from violinist Maxim Moston and cellist Julia Kent.

After the release of his debut, Reuben formed his own band. The revolving roster of musicians have included guitarist Joe Pascarell, drummer Tarah Cohen, bassist Jeff Langston, bassist Jason DiMatteo, and drummer John Bollinger.

Co-produced by Noah Simon, "Golden Boy" is Reuben's second full length, a collection of lushly orchestrated alternative soul gems and mid-tempo art ballads.

Reuben's latest release "Nameless and Awake: Eight Poems by John William Carroll" was developed and recorded during his artist residency at Robert Wilson's Watermill Center. It is the result of a collaboration between Reuben, poet John William Carroll and seven multi-instrumentalists, The Millworkers.

For bookings or other inquiries:
To learn more about the new record, visit NAMELESS & AWAKE
To hear all songs from all albums visit DISCOGRAPHY.